Good Morning & Good Night

So many dualities,

Resemble dark and light:

Good and evil, happy sad,

Good morning and good night.

 

I nearly lost a friend today,

Only myself to blame.

But now I think that friends we’ll stay,

And spare our souls the pain.

 

It’s such a cruel trick of fate,

To feel so very strong.

To save us hope I’m not too late,

I’ve dragged this on so long.

 

Know that I’m so sorry,

Know I’d give the world to you.

Know that I’m so sorry for,

The stupid things I do.

 

I wish I didn’t act this way,

I wish I felt things less.

I fight this battle everyday,

I’m manically depressed.

 

When I am up I’m oh so high,

But when I’m down I’m down.

Either flying through the sky,

Or buried under ground.

 

It’s not just feeling bad you see,

Or down, or blue or low.

It’s something very dark and sad,

I hope you never know.

 

But when the darkness turns to light,

The bad things melt away.

You somehow start to feel so right,

And there you want to stay.

 

Eager heart and burning mind,

And muse of creativity,

The things that make me who I am,

The things that make me, me.

 

There are drugs they say can help,

To take away the highs and blues.

But the manic side you see,

I never want to loose.

 

Is this a blessing or a curse?

Is it my foe or friend?

Will it bring me happiness?

Or lead me to my end?

 

 

6 responses to “Good Morning & Good Night

  1. This is one of those poems that I wish I had written myself. Job very well done. I especially liked these two stanzas. For me they stood out, both in rhyme and feeling. I hope you do publish one day!

    “It’s not just feeling bad you see,

    Or down, or blue or low.

    It’s something very dark and sad,

    I hope you never know.

     

    But when the darkness turns to light,

    The bad things melt away.

    You somehow start to feel so right,

    And there you want to stay.”

    • It is so unfortunate that so many people are afflicted with this illness. I watched my late grandfather slowly slip away from life over the course of a decade, and it frightens me when I notice similar tendencies in myself. However it is two sided, at least for me, and in the end, I truly believe that the manic side has been the catalyst behind all of my creativity, and that’s something I never want to loose! I wrote this poem shortly after coming to that realization. Thank you for the comment, and take care. J

Leave a comment